• admin

Thursday, February 12, 2015

PHOENIX – West Coast Stock Car Hall of Fame chairman Ken Clapp announced the election of Dave Allen and Larree M. Renda to the organization’s Board of Directors today.

Allen is the president of Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif. Renda is executive vice president of Safeway Inc.

Ken Clapp, chairman of the board of the West Coast Stock Car Hall of Fame, said Allen and Renda are proven leaders in their fields and will strengthen the organization moving forward.

“We welcome their service in behalf of the heritage of stock racing,” said Clapp. The two new directors brings the board’s membership to 15.

Allen, 41, is a 17-year veteran in the motorsports industry and was named to his current post in December 2014. He joined the previously named California Speedway in 1999 after spending a year at Mazda Raceway at Laguna Seca.

From 2002-2006 Allen served as senior director of sales and marketing and was elevated to vice president of sales and marketing in 2006 with oversight of all sponsorship, hospitality suite and consumer sales. Allen, along with former track President Gillian Zucker, completed the speedway’s naming rights partnership with Auto Club of Southern California in 2008.

Renda, 56, has been employed by Safeway Inc. since 1974 and became executive vice president in 1999. Her responsibilities have included retail strategy, labor relations, public affairs, communications, government relations, health initiatives, human resources, corporate social responsibility and sustainability, philanthropy, industrial engineering, IT and real estate.

She is a member of the board of directors of HSBC Finance Corp. and HSBC North American Holdings as well as that of Casey’s General Stores.

The West Coast Stock Car Hall of Fame was founded in 2001 and inducted its inaugural class in 2002. It memorializes significant contributors to the sport’s development and history – including designers, engineers, mechanics, drivers, racetrack owners, promoters, publicists and members of the motorsports media.

The organization’s next induction will be held at the Meritage Resort in Napa, Calif. on June 25 in conjunction with the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series weekend at nearby Sonoma Raceway. The Hall’s 12th class is comprised of Jerry Baxter, Jason Leffler, Warren Razore, Doug Richert and Jim Williams. The late John Cardinale also will be honored on his lengthy career as a media member, vice president of communications at Sonoma Raceway and member of the West Coast Stock Car Hall of Fame board of Ken Clapp, Chairman West Coast Stock Car Hall of Fame
board of directors.